Other Things I’ve noticed

It’s considered rude to accept or hand something with one hand. At the very least, extend one hand and put the other on your elbow. I insult a lot of people.

The Korean language never ends words with a consonant. This affects their English pronunciation. My name comes out “Rachel-eh,” also “hi-yeh,” “English-eh,” etc. My pronunciation of Korean is no better, of course! I understand students’ hesitation to speak–when I feel like I am butchering the language, I don’t even want to try!

Today, a student told me I look like Barbie. I’m not sure how I feel about that one! It’s a bit weird having so many people so shy about talking to me. Most students giggle and run away, and when one approaches me the friends hide behind her. I am very curious about how classes will go!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

