I just ate intestine. Yech.

Our school just finished building a counseling center/room.  To celebrate, they had a collection of refreshments.  The first time I went by, I ate enough rice cakes to make me too full for dinner.

Then a science teacher invited me back upstairs for some more snacks.  They had just added sundae (순대) and ddeokpokki (떡볶이) to the spread.  I’m quite the fan of the latter (see right).  I love anything rice-cake-texture.  I had no idea what this sundae stuff was.  So I ate a chunk.

NOT my favorite.

My best guess was some kind of pork.  So I looked it up online.  According to Wikipedia:

Sundae (Korean pronunciation: [sundɛ], also sometimes spelled soondae) is a Korean dish made generally by boiling or steaming cow or pig’s intestines that are stuffed with various ingredients…[most commonly] cellophane noodles (dangmyeon), barley, and pork blood…”

So yes, I probably did just eat pig intestine. Could have been cow, but I’m thinking it was definitely pink, squeally, animal meat.  It was all chewy and pork-y.

Definitely not my favorite.

Sundae (순대)

 

One response

  1. Pingback: My cure for homesickness | The Other Side of the World

Leave a Reply

