Oh hey, I’m north of the 38th parallel right now!

I’m visiting some friends here.  There’s a gorgeous lake here I wanted to see, but it’s all foggy.  Ah well, I’ll have to come back in the winter for their ice fishing contests!

It’s weird, living here.  I’ll admit, I’ve always been very ignorant of the conflict between North and South Korea.  So it’s interesting to be so close, and talk with people about it, and to realize the extent of the situation.

I watched the below video last Sunday, and haven’t been that infuriated in a while.  Mostly because I was totally unaware, so there was a bit of a shock factor involved.  So we’ll see.

I definitely teared up a bit, not gonna lie.  Maybe more than a bit.

I’m trying to figure out what to do while I’m over here, you know?  Where to put my energy and such.

There’s an orphanage a few subway stops away from me, so I’ll spend some time there over the next 6 months at least.  So we’ll see.

I just want to do something.

Without further ado, the video.  I know it’s long, but you should watch it anyways.  Watch it in pieces if you have to.

It’s about 10 years old, but I really don’t think the situation has changed all that much.  There are signs of progress, like the university the N Korean government is going to start–they’ll hire professors from around the world to come in and educate their people on present technology and whatnot.

So that’s good, but at the same time,  it’s still going to be just for the elite rich and government officials.  But it’s a sign, right?  Hopefully.

OK, NOW here’s the video!

3 responses

  1. Rachel, I too was led to tears over the content of the video. Although I already know the horrible conditions (other secret visitors commented here) it was drastic to see the pictures. Thank you for sending this to me. Love, Grandma

  2. Pingback: Sports Days | The Other Side of the World

  3. Pingback: Warning: Sentimental Post Ahead « rachelshae

Leave a Reply

