My students are hilarious

Firstly

See if you can guess the word from this charade (and you have no idea how sorry I am that there is not a picture included):

“Teacher!  Uhh…baby…uhh…mother…uh…ggghhhuuuuuhhhh.” *scrunches face, clenches fist*

[explosion into a fit of giggles]

After looking perplexed for a few seconds, I answer, “Um…pregnant?  Oh! Labor!  Birth!  ‘To give birth.'”

So grand.

Secondly…

I had the 1st (7th) graders do an exercise practicing their, “Why…? Because…” shindigs.  I provided a few questions, and here a couple of the unedited results–both entertaining and telling of the culture:

Why do you study?

Because…

  • …meet good boys
  • …my mom
  • …I must parents make feel happy for me.
  • …my mother is very scared (scary)
  • …of my mother
  • …I make much money
  • …I want to be a famous singer in the future
  • …I don’t like fight for my mother
  • …I will married [famous person]. His wife is smart.
  • …I’m going to university
  • etc.

I find it interesting that they are all scared of their mothers–not their fathers.  Hmmm.

Lastly…

On an unrelated note, I’m getting my vacation days signed off on for January, and am literally brimming with excitement.  At the risk of jinxing it, I won’t tell you what I have planned until after I book the tickets and do a little more planning-of-time-lines, buuuut…I’m excited!

5 responses

  1. Pingback: 17 Things You Don’t Know About School in Korea | rachelshae

  2. Aw, that’s so cute! and sad at the same time, I guess… as an Asian student myself (though not in Korea) I do admit my mom is really scary. Really. Scary.

    Anyway, I loved your freshly pressed post! I’ve always been curious about the lives of teenagers residing in Korea, and what you wrote was very informative. Just wondering, how much work did you have to do to become an English teacher in Korea? Like education-wise or college-wise?

Leave a Reply

