Do you like presents?

Gifts are common in Korea.  And nothing makes me happier.

You’re not supposed to give the receiver a gift they could not return equally–for example, no one’s going to hand me a Louis Vuitton purse anytime soon.  Which, by the by, are more expensive over here (imports, you know).

I think I’ve done pretty well so far, seeing as I still have another month to go in the first semester!  Although I think the pumpkin pies may have had something to do with the last four, since they were all from this week.

The List (in order of reception)

  • 1 string of mozzarella cheese [student]
  • Shrimp burger & soda [students]
  • 4 origami-type-paper-stars [students]
  • Nivea toiletries set [Chuseok gift, principal]
  • 1 coffee drink (the canned variety–yummy!) [student]
  • Paper airplane (this gift included racing our airplanes in the hallway!) [student]
  • Plate of breakfast pastries [principal]
  • 1 slice of American cheese [student]
  • Fancy bookmark [teacher]
  • Jam–strawberry & apple! [principal]
  • 100 slices of American cheese [teacher]
  • 1 pair of leggings [came with the above]
  • 1 pair of fuzzy sock slippers [teacher–because I looked so “poor” wearing my indoor shoes/sandals without socks! No, really, I’m not cold, but thanks!]

The block of American cheese was such a shock, I’m not sure I properly said thank you.  What in the world am I going to do with all that cheese??  If I make a sandwich every day, it’ll still take me three months to eat!

Anyone want some cheese?

3 responses

Leave a Reply

