Semi-free healthcare & how I’m like an illegal immigrant

I went to a doctor today.  My visit cost me about $3.50.

Then I went to the pharmacy to get my meds, and those cost me about $1.75.

It’s a beautiful thing.

Health care in Korea, to my understanding, is semi-public.  The government covers a chunk of it.

I’m not really sure how, because income tax is only around 3.5%.  But I’ll take it.  It’s nice to not be afraid to visit the doctor, and to know that I won’t have to sell my first-born child to pay for it.

Also, you know how a hot-topic in the good ol’ U.S.of.A. is the whole rant of “illegal immigrants don’t have official residency/citizenship and they don’t pay taxes and they steal our jobs and they leach off the system but don’t pay taxes and they don’t even learn English” yadda yadda?

Well.  I have official residency but…

I don’t pay taxes

I’m taking a pretty good job.

I use their government-sponsored health care whilst not paying taxes.

I don’t speak their language.

Heh heh.

Leave a Reply

