Bits and pieces in pictures and words

  • For my after-school class, we played a version of “Spoons” with markers. I’m pretending that having vocab on the cards meant they learned some English. On the board? “Eeny-meeny-miney-mo.” Essential knowledge, I think.
  • My students get yellow cards when they break rules (are late, have hair too long, forget their “inside shoes,” talk in class, etc.). To make them go away, they need blue cards. One way to get blue cards is to help teachers. So basically we can make students do the physical part of our lesson prep. I have a couple of students cutting up note cards as I type.
  • My co-teachers clap whenever I make a sentence in Korean. I feel slightly awkward and childish when this happens.
  • Today we have club activities for teachers. School will end early so teachers can hang out after school. There’s Movie Club, Restaurant Club, Table Tennis (or Badminton?) Club, and Hiking Club. I think it’s obvious which one I joined. We meet monthly.
  • My students keep telling So Jung I look like the actress Song Ji Hyo.

Maybe…

  • Rae habitually gives me Snickers. I love her.
  • I leave sneakers at school so I can play soccer with students at lunch.
  • I bought a rock climbing harness!! It’s so pretty! I also literally emptied both my bank accounts and my wallet to get it. THAT’S a funny story. Thank God Monday was payday.
  • I hear screams outside the window. Oh, middle school girls.  Probably playing “Ice, Water!”
  • My co-teacher suggested (as she often does) I look into renewing for at least six more months. It’s funny because even though this post popped up when I clicked “Random Post,” I’m falling more and more in love with my students, and realizing how much I’ll miss everything here. That might be due to graduation goggles, but also because they’re just so freakin’ cute. And because Sincheon–the 9-year-old from the gym–always runs up to me, says, “Blah blah blah blah blah!” and runs away.
  • Sunday was lovely, for many reasons. The first of which is, it started out with this Skype conversation with the two children I’ve loved for the past…almost 4 years! Wow!:
Me: You should be older to rock climb
Nathaniel: like 79!
Me: Well, no, but…
Lorelai: or 100!
Nat: or 50!
Lore: or 100!
Nat: No, cause then you would DIE Lorelai!

Me: I went to a bull-fighting festival! They don’t hurt each other though, they just bump heads until one decides the other one is stronger, and then he runs away.
Lore: You know why they don’t get hurt? ‘Cause they have HORNS!

The logic of a 3-year-old is infallible.

When I feel homesick, I watch old videos of them. They make my heart happy 🙂

3 responses

  1. You will be getting a birthday present via snail mail. Sent yesterday and they said it would take a coupe of weeks, hopefully. Hope you can use it??

  2. Pingback: Incheon is a Redskins fan, and I can prove it « rachelshae

Leave a Reply

