Random: Pumpkin Buckwheat Pancakes for Thanksgiving

If you know me, you know I have to work today.  I head out in an hour or so.  Last year, Boyfriend and I had a massive Thanksgiving feast.  This year, he came over for pumpkin pancakes instead (and our fingers are crossed I get off of work earlier than 9pm so we can follow up with some pumpkin cider!).

They taste kind of like cake.

This is inspired by Boy Wonder’s love of all things pumpkin, and his lovely mother’s donation of a massive bag of buckwheat flour with which will last forever.

Below is the recipe.  It’s gluten-free friendly (Wags, I’m lookin’ at you!), but if you are down with gluten, you could up the flour to maybe 1 1/2 cups, and do half-and-half with buckwheat and normal flour.  Or all normal, but then you might need to forget one of the eggs?  Experiment away!  That’s what this was!

My normal way of baking is to Google recipes for what I want, grab the top three that look the best, and then combine them and add my own stuff and take away some of theirs and make it me.

Ta-da!

Thanksgiving Morning Pumpkin Buckwheat Pancakes

  • 1 c buckwheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2-to-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • Dash of allspice or cloves
  • Couple dashes of salt
  • 1 1/3 cup milk or buttermilk (if you have no buttermilk, like me!)
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1-to-2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup pun’kin puree

What you do is, mix all the dry stuff, then mix all the wet stuff minus the pun’kin, then mix the dry and wet stuff together.  THEN fold in the pumpkin. If you don’t know, “fold in” just means to literally fold in with a spatula, or just stir with big strokes just enough to mix in the pumpkin. You don’t want to overbeat the eggs, Aofall, and Bofall you want to keep them fluffy so no mixing of the pumpkin!

Cook as you would normal pancakes.

Pumpkin Sauce/Syrup

(This recipe follows my personality of plan-as-you-go, so have fun!)

  • Whatever Cool Whip you have leftover in the freezer (for me, was ~1/8-to-1/4 c)
  • ~1/8-to-1/4 c milk
  • a few heaping Tbsp of pumpkin puree
  • A claw-full of buckwheat/regular flour (just grabbed some with my fingers)
  • Honey! From my friends’ bee farm, ask me about it if you’re around the ‘Burgh!
  • Powdered sugar, maybe 1/2 c, maybe less. Probably less.

Put it all in a saucepan, and stir, just like gravy, until the consistency gets thicker. Low-med heat.  I actually have no idea how much of each thing I added.  I just through stuff in and stirred and it wasn’t thickening, so I added more powdered sugar, then more pumpkin, then more milk, then turned the heat up, and then it got thick!  What up.

Thanksgiving breakfast = success.

I found another buckwheat pancakes recipe that actually uses yeast to make them fluffier, so stay tuned…

It’s beautiful outside, so that’s where I’m going right now. Peace out girl scout.

Leave a Reply

